Criminal Defense Attorney
Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs
If you have been charged with a drug offense
How Can a Lawyer Defend Against a DUI?
24/7 A Law Firm, P.A. Attorney’s can challenge and appeal your Administrative Suspension with Florida-DHSMV and immediately work towards obtaining a Temporary Drivers Permit (Business Purposes Only DL). (Only if applicable. Some Florida DUI arrests do not involve an immediate suspension. Generally, A Florida DUI arrest with a blood alcohol level of .08 or high will result in an immediate 6-month drivers licenses suspension. A Florida DUI arrest with a Breath, Blood or Unire Refusal will result in an immediate suspension of 12 months.)24/7 A LAW Firm,P.A. will gather and investigate all information, discovery and evidence involved in your case with an eye towards any and all Pre-Trial Motions to Suppress, Dismiss, Exclude, etc.
At the conclusion of Discovery, we will consult with one another to evaluate your case and determine if we should proceed to trial. DUI trials are some of the most scientifically and legally complex criminal trials attorneys participate in. 24/7 A LAW FIRM, P.A. attorney’s have represented hundred of people charged with DUI and is experienced and knowledgeable on Florida DUI laws.
Have You, a Loved One, a Friend, or a College Student been Arrested for DUI
(Driving Under the Influence)?
DUI ARRESTS AND PUNISHMENT IN FLORIDA: Facts You Need to Know
Facing Jail Time?
1st ever DUI arrest can consist of:
- up to 6 months in jail
- Fines and fees ranging from $500 and $1000
- Mandatory probation for one year (maybe more if you are charged with additional offenses) with conditions of probation ranging from 50 hours community service and substance abuse counseling to DUI School, etc.
DUI 2nd arrest outside of 5 years of the 1st conviction can consist of:
- Up to 9 months in jail, a fine between $1000 and $2000
- Ignition interlock of 1 year
- License suspension ranging from 180 days to 1 year
- Mandatory one year probation ranging from 50 hours of community services and substance abuse counseling to a level 2 DUI School
If your second arrest for DUI has been committed WITHIN 5 years of the first conviction then you may face:
- Fine ranging from $1000 and $2000
- Jail time ranging from 10 days to 1 year
- Mandatory ignition interlock of 1 year
- License suspension for a minimum of one year and maximum of 5 years
- Mandatory one year probation ranging from 50 hours of community service or substance abuse counseling to DUI School
3 arrests for DUI within 10 Years, punishment you may face includes:
- Fine ranging from $2000 to $5000
- Jail confinement from 30 days to 5 years maximum
- 10 year mandatory license suspension
- Mandatory ignition interlock for 2 years
- One year mandatory probation ranging from 50 hours of community service or substance abuse counseling to DUI School, etc.
4 arrests within a 10 year period for DUI:
- A 3rd degree felony in the State of Florida
- Fine of up to $5000
- Up to 5 years in prison
Florida’s Ignition Interlock Programs: According to Florida law governing Ignition Interlock devices, some DUI offenders will be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicles. Note, not all DUI offenders will face this penalty; only some of the offenders with certain particulars in their case for instance, having a child in your vehicle at the time of arrest can result in ignition interlock device requirement and these devices are designed to prevent tampering and such tampering can result in further penalties. You have only 10 Days from the Day of Arrest to Request an Administrative Hearing in Order to Prevent Your Driver License from being Suspended. DUI cases, are not like other criminal charges, and are extremely unique under Florida law. You need an experienced criminal defense lawyer to represent you. The Law Office of Travis Koon is ready to assist you or your loved one wherever and whenever you contact us. YES, it is imperative that you contact us with the first 10 days of your arrest, but if you are reviewing this web page after 10 days, do not delay, contact our office immediately–there is important work that needs to be completed in your case. Florida License Suspension: In the case of a DUI arrest, your driver’s license will be suspended and you will normally be given a citation for temporary use as a driving license for 10 days after your arrest. Most Florida DUI lawyers would advise you strongly to request an administrative hearing within 10 days after your DUI arrest because you can become eligible for a temporary driving license for 45 days after your arrest. At this time, you should hire our Florida DUI lawyer who will be present at your hearing and can help your case by presenting arguments from the defendant’s side and cross-examining the officer who made the arrest and extracting crucial facts from this hearing that can be used to help you beat your DUI charge. DUI Test Refusals: If you refuse to undertake a DUI test at the time of your arrest, then according to the law of Florida; your driving license will be suspended from the date of your arrest to one year for the First offense and 18 months for any consecutive offenses.
Experienced criminal defense attorney representing those accused of drug crimes
If you have been charged with a drug offense, it is important to speak with an experienced Criminal Defense Attorney early in your case. Drug cases involve complex defenses that can surround many technical issues involving, constitutional protections, search seizure law and suppression of the evidence. Your entire case can be won or lost depending on the motion to suppress drug evidence that is filed and argued in your case. Motions must be filed early in the case. Travis Koon will devise a case strategy and possibly file a Motion to Dismiss. If the prosecution does not have sufficient evidence to prove that you actually or constructively possessed the controlled substance the charges could be dismissed against you.
24/7 A LAW FIRM, P.A. handles ALL Florida DUI charges in both Circuit and County Court. We regularly handle DUI, DUI with Serious Bodily Injury, DUI with Property Damage, DUI with Personal Injury, 2nd DUI within 5 years, 3rd DUI within 10 years, 4th and subsequent DUI, and DUI Manslaughter.
Do You Have Questions about Your DUI Case? Many people charged with DUI in Florida are scared, confused and worried about their arrested. First, most people want to know are they going to jail? Next, how large of a fine am I going to have to pay? The answer to both of these questions depends on the particular facts of your case. An experienced DUI attorney who has represented individuals in courtrooms can answer all of these questions for you and put your concerns at ease.
DRUG POSSESSION, SALE AND TRAFFICKING OFFENSES
Contact an experienced Florida drug crime attorney who has proven record of representation on a wide variety of possession, sale, and trafficking offenses including:
- MDMA/XTC (Ecstasy)
- Methamphetamine/Meth/Crystal Meth
- Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD)
- Psilocybin (Mushrooms)
- PCP (Phencyclidine)
PRESCRIPTION DRUG POSSESSION, SALE AND TRAFFICKING OFFENSES
Prescription Drug Abuse (in many cases is charged as “drug trafficking” carrying minimum mandatory sentence) One pill bottle full of prescription medications in many cases is a trafficking amount
- OxyContin/ Oxycodone
- Vicodin/ Hydrocodone
- Xanax/ Alprazolam
- Valium/ Diazepan
- Ritalin/ Adderall/ Methylphenidate/ Amphetamine